top of page

International Rotation

Hola mi amigos! ( Hello my friends!)

Before I begin, I want to put a disclaimer out that I am writing “Part 1” of 2 regarding this rotation. My colleague and fellow PLS member, Nicole Smith, will be writing “Part 2” when she has this rotation Spring 2019. I would also like to add that this post will be an overview of the Dominican Republic rotation for any student that might be thinking about going or slightly interested.

LETS BEGIN!

Students going on this International Medicine rotation will be working in a free clinic ( Clinica Rural El Veron) in a municipal area of Veron – which is bordering the Punta Cana Resort Area. Daily responsibilities of students include :

  • Taking inventory of Emergency Room medications

  • Supplying inventory to the Emergency Room

  • Filling Prescriptions

  • Counseling on medications

*responsibilities change based on what the clinic needs the students to perform

I chose this particular rotation because I like to learn about different cultures ,backgrounds, and people. I also plan on going back to my home state of California, where majority of people lacking healthcare speak Spanish so I thought I should practice my pharmaceutical Spanish. As I reflect on this rotation, my thought is “ Man, I am so lucky to have what I have as an American…and I got to practice my Spanish way way more then I thought”. If you do decide to go on this rotation -it truly is a very humbling experience, and that it should remind you that at the core of your role as a pharmacist is to provide the most basic of health care to anyone and everyone. Sure, you get to be surrounded by beaches and nice weather but your main reason to be here is to practice empathy, apply your pharmacy knowledge, and to impact lives.

If you’re like “meh I’ll take my chances with other rotations”, how about this :

Like look at that water!

If that doesn’t convince you, I recommend you to…

  1. Go back to PLS blog post written by alumni Walid Nazari ( November 2, 2016) and read about his experience in the DR.

  2. Wait in excited anticipation for Nicole Smith’s post in detail about her experience.

Lastly, if you have any questions – feel free to contact any P3 that has this rotation including myself!

Good luck!

Who We Are

Mission Statement:

To support pharmacy leadership commitment by recognizing leaders and fostering leadership development. 

Goals: 

  • Ensure the continuing availability of student and practitioner leaders for the professsion of pharmacy. 

  • Acknowldge leadership achievement and award membership to leaders recommended by the Society. 

  • Enhance the talent, skill, and effectiveness of leaders for the profession of pharmacy. 

  • Support and encourage sustained leadership commitment. 

Other Posts
More on the web
Follow Me
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page